Showing posts with label Haley. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Haley. Show all posts

Monday, April 09, 2012

Haley Freed

Love the retro outfits, hair, locale and sexiness. Love the massive replayability:


Love that a year after Idol, Haley's out there and free to be herself, album coming late May.

Monday, February 27, 2012

Haley's Coming

Haley Reinhart, my favorite American Idol contestant to date, has her first album coming out in March. In the meantime, she's singing "Wild Horses" to Muhammad Ali on his birthday with Slash and Myles Kennedy:



Talent?

Thursday, September 01, 2011

Tight

No doubt American Idol graduated this year, with a hard-rocking barnstorming U.S. tour (then to the Philippines, I believe) and at least five record deals. The 9th place finisher, Pia Toscano, has a hit single already, f'goss sakes. And, of course, the incomparable Haley Reinhart, the jazz improviser with a rock & roll heart, no two performances exactly alike.

One of the best new twists is the proliferation of user videos from the live shows, which tell a narrative tail of 13 kids going from fire-tested amateurs to confident pros in dozens of cities, now second nature playing in front of huge, filled arenas.

The Manchester, NH performance last night benefitted from the best (a.k.a. closest) UGC video I've seen yet. Check out how Haley and Casey have grown, bringing Art Blakey to all-age audiences all across America:


Hard to believe that earlier this year when they performed it together, on national television, for the first time, they were just kids.

But by far my favorite clip, from every show where there's a UGC version to be had, is when four of the women - Pia, Haley, Naima and Thea, do their house-shaking collaboration on Janelle Monae's already classic Tightrope. You can't get too high; you can't get too low:


I love how 16-year-old Thea gets nicely featured in starting the verses, love how Naima takes over when they start moving, it's noce to hear Pia harmonizing with the women since she left the show so long before they female duets as the cast got whittled down.

And then there's Haley, go-go chick playing her part so happily throughout, then taking it all home in the end.

I believe there will be a lot of people looking forward to her first album, hoping it's really good.

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Just Kids

With the departure of Haley Reinhart as my favorite #3 finisher, a category that includes Casey James and Melissa Doolittle, I have one less show to watch next week, as I'll be skipping the all-country, youngest ever (16 and 17) American Idol finals. I'll definitely watch the grand finale episode, not because I care who wins anymore, but to see some of the great diverse talent from this season, paired up with established stars, usually with at least one legend thrown in as the climax. Maybe Randy Travis with the country kids?

Nothing against Scotty McCreery or Lauren Alaina who seem like fine young people, both very talented, with Scotty poised to be the male Carrie Underwood when he wins and starts selling a kazillion records and downloads, but it's not my genre unless in the Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Allison Kraus, even Willie Nelson vein. And in its quest for audience, Idol has become a kids show. With alternatives like X Factor and The Voice, I wonder if the future Casey Abrams and Haley Reinharts will choose to take their quirky, professional, potentially brilliant career starts elsewhere.

The iTunes studio track of Haley's Led Zep cover from last night, "What Is and What Should Never Be," is awesome. It misses the smouldering blues lead guitar of her father's from the live show, but makes up for it in production value, listenability, and lack of tumble in the middle. So may of her tracks have been great, rotation ready -- "Benny and the Jets," "Rolling in the Deep," "You and I," "House of the Rising Sun," even "Blue" -- but this one may be the best. What a way to go out. I'm just bummed not to get those last three Haley Reinhart competition performances next week.

Here's her sing-out. "Benny" all the way, the song that first separated her, this awkward sexy yodeling girl who was supposed to be cannon fodder, from the rest of the pack:



Here's my favorite take on the above, from the tvline.com blogpost comments:

I usually get a feeling after the show about how the contestants are reacting. Just from the way Haley was singing to the others in the audience who went before her, it truly seemed to me that she was hanging with the cool kids while the pristine prom king and queen were anchored to the stage having to hold court, unable to join the party. I’ll bet none of them are surprised who the two finalists turned out to be. Haley was the last of the artists, and she made it further than all the others in what has always been a predestined finale. The fact that she came so far from where she started takes some of the sting out.

Comment by agrimesy – May 19, 2011 09:11 PM PDT
Two kids trapped in the grown-up world of network television meets music business. No more adults left to watch on the show, they're on their own.

Gotta think the Idol factory might have preferred Scotty vs. Haley. Ratings will have to go down next week as large blue state percentages drop off. And with the top two headliners be in country on the tour, won't that be something of a deterrent to ticket sales?

I do blame the judges song choice for Haley -- the Alanis Morissette song was a bad choice eight ways to Sunday, including being past it's expiration date Crystal and Alanis duetted it on the final last year), requiring editing for TV and still containing "is she perverted like me" to turn off mothers, has a general bitchy feel that seems designed to confirm what the Haley haters fantasize about her personality, not a great "singing" song with a low verse that's not great for Haley, lots of words to learn quickly when you lose a couple days for homecoming week and have 3 rather than 1 or even 2 songs to do, and they put it at the end of the show rather than earlier, so Haley could have ended on the Led Zeppelin moment.

But I truly believe, in the grand post-Idol scheme:

Haley FTW.

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Rock Star

Beyonce said it: Haley's a rock star. No one with tone like her. And she's got the balls to choose to do a Led Zeppelin number on Idol -- onstage with her dad on lead guitar (a show first):



She was raised on rock & roll and has been in her parents' band since she was 8.

About time.

C'mon, America. Haley Reinhart for the win?

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Idolfire

The drama is on, and it's ugly. Fans are accusing the American Idol judges of being pointedly hard on Haley Reinhart week-after-week while glossing over the pitch disasters and safe choices of the other contestants with endless praise. One starts to wonder if it's actually orchestrated by the producers to get Haley's fans voting, but the Haley haters are out in force as well. At this point, it appears she's getting more sympathy for actually speaking up for herself and her song:



The show was announced as Leiber-Stoller night, but either because they couldn't find 8 of their songs for the 4 contestants, or perhaps to pander to some of the contestants, they split it into two sections that didn't fit together, the first half being songs that Inspire You. Per Branden at American Idol Net:

Can we please just pretend the first round of “American Idol’s” Top 4 performance show never happened? From the incredibly boring and lame songs to Randy Jackson’s nasty attack on Haley, I thought it was going to be the worst “Idol” I’ve ever seen.

Why does Randy seem to really have it out for Haley. She’s the only person to receive bad critiques from him for weeks.

Luckily, things got much better during round two.
Here's the stellar performance that was her second of the evening, redemption with a judges standing ovation:



What's best is the intensified skirmishes on the boards between the Haley haters and her fans. Going over the edge and back again repeatedly now:
  • Neesey

    Can Haley just go home now. I have not liked her from the beginning and with each week I am liking her less and less. Yes, she’s a good singer but her personality sux. There is nothing likable about her. She tells Randy “okay okay you said it, you don’t have to repeat yourself”, then smirks on stage, always looking to see if she is on the camera so she can put on her fake smile. Go home Haley!

    • tina

      She was smirking when Pia got sent home, all the other were crying. She thinks she is the best. Sorry Haley you are not, now go away.

      • g

        She wasn’t smirking. You go away teen.

      • Neesey

        Tina – you are so right and I completely forgot about her smirking when Pia got sent home. The judges were raving about her performance. I thought she sucked. Jordan Sparks sung that song a thousand times better!

      • tina

        Obviously your little precious Haley can do no wrong, go back and watch the elimination of Piaa nd you will see bimbo Haley SMIRKING.

      • Steve

        she wasn’t smirking, if you watch that carefully the cam just caught her between and she was crying and legit upset

      • Levente

        Pia? Is that you or your sister?

    • two cents

      I am so glad that you two have never had the misfortune of having your facial expressions misunderstood. It kills me how every year people KNOW exactly what the contestants are feeling and how arrogant they are… So my impression that Lauren is a whiny brat and Pia was a stuck up beauty queen must be right because that’s what I see on tv.

      • LKay

        Exactly. It amazes me when someone claims to know exactly what the contestants are thinking and feeling and can wrongly judge them like that. Wrong!

      • Neesey

        I never said I KNOW how Haley is feeling, etc. My impression is based on what I see on TV, and of course the editing has a lot to do with it. You can’t tell me if I am right or wrong in my impressions of Haley just like I can’t tell you that you are wrong or right in your impression of Lauren/Pia. They are only “impressions” based on how we individually perceive the person. With that being said, based on what AI shows us, based on the editing of interviews with Haley, my impression is exactly what I stated in my previous post. Everyone has a different impression of each contestant. No one is wrong or right, it’s just how we feel and everyone is entitled to their own feelings.

    • Hello?!

      Nothing likable about her? Have you seen her legs? Be reasonable!

  • JessicaW

    So everyone is giving Scotty crap about picking a song about 9/11 saying it was calculated so no one would critique it. Yet James sings a song that a drunken crowd in any bar in America could sing while wearing a Journey shirt to the former bass player of Journey wasn’t a calculated move?

  • Justin

    I don’t know why I still watch this. I feel awful for Haley. That girl just can’t catch a break. She was no worse than anybody else.

  • Sarah

    JLO and Randy will obviously find something wrong with haley’s next performance. Hopefully Steven will stick up for Haley again because I know she is going to kill it!

    • tina

      He will stick up for her, because she will be the new Mrs. Steven Tyler.

      • amie

        Tina you’re jealous

      • tina

        Hardly, why would I be jealous of a bimbo marrying a drug-out, booze out, has been rock star.

      • petra

        Tina, go buy a vibrator or lose 80 pounds and go find a man.
        Your trolling is pathetic.

  • LKay

    @Tina T.Troll – I realize you’re a tween getting off on trolling this site. But isn’t it past your bedtime? BTW, your credibility would have been improved somewhat if you actually made comments about anyone you actually liked. But no… you troll these threads and spew your troll-talk. Hahaha, you’ve had your fun. OK, hope you had time to finish your homework with all your time here. Beddy bye time now – time for all little trolls to get their rest.

  • Nycgal

    Omg their hatred of Haley is so repulsive….. Randy in particular. Wow, I have never in 10 seasons watched such shameful behaviour from the judges. It is all so orchestrated and obvious that Haley is not one of the chosen ones. But it is an insult to our intelligence to watch these fools critique only Haley while everyone else is above reproach? They r disgusting….

  • Voice of Reason

    The Haley hater have no credibility when they say she sucks. Just admit you dont like her and be done with it. If she sucked she wouldnt have made it this far. deal with it.

    • tina

      She made it this fair because of all you who think she can sing. Those of who you claim hate her, know she can not sing, she screams,growls and should have left already.

      • Voice of Reason

        Whatever helps you sleep at night.

      • tina

        Whatever help you sleep at night. Oh wait your dreaming of the bimbo haley



Probably good for ratings.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Will she bring it?

My fave was great last week, Haley Reinhart taking a big risk with Adele's "Rolling in the Deep" and hitting it strong:



The version posted above is the best quality, but this one has the quarter-million views and counting, not to mention 1,545 comments and counting. That's bigger than any competitors from the week, with all video versions added up making more than 500k views.

For good measure, the studio version is has a bit of a different flavor:



The question is whether tonight (Wednesday night) Haley brings the goods to Carole King theme week on Idol, and if she can keep out of the bottom three. The fan base has been building, but will a more silent (country music loving) majority knock her out of the competition for good?

Even Idol legend Adam Lambert says he can't wait for her record. Time for Haley to take a big, winning risk and scoop it up...otherwise, also-ran.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Haley Fever

Ever since last Thursday night I haven't been able to stop watching this at least a couple times each day:



The last time this happened to me was when Ms. Haley Reinhart surprised everybody and had her first ever Idol "moment":



Haley clearly has chops, she's showing growth, and she's never been heavily touted, barely making the Top 12. But now she's the one I'm rooting for, hopefully in a final against James Durbin, the two with the most amazing voices and most rock & roll soul.

There's this thing with her where she's got the earthy growls and runs, and with her jazz background she's skipping so close to the edge, you think she's not going to make the note, that her voice can't handle it. But she can.

Here's something they didn't even show on TV -- not sure how it leaked out. One of my all-time favorite songs, "Baby It's You" performed solo with just keyboard accompaniment in her final Hollywood Week elimination:



Very classic in a way, throwback to girl group greatness, that kind of supple voice and good jazz & blues training. Her iTunes recordings are even better in some ways, does some different things with her voice than onstage, where she has to deal with movement as well. But she's just 20, so there's time to train.

What's great is that she's got a distinct but beautiful instrument to listen to, she's got chops, she's got taste, she's got variety and when she goes out there the audience is sensing that she's giving her all. The number of views she has are huge and the comments have exploded since "Moanin'."

I've finally got a horse in the race this year

Haley FTW.